Principles & Practices of Real Estate
Principles and Practices of Real Estate is a 60-hour course that once taken, meets the Connecticut requirements to apply for the state real estate exam.
The required course covers topics such as: agency, real estate brokerage, listing agreements, buyer representation, interests in real estate, form of ownership, legal descriptions, real estate taxes and other liens, contracts, transfer of title, real estate financing, leases, appraisal, land use control and property development, fair housing and ethical practice, environmental issues, and closing the real estate transaction.
Connecticut real estate practice and law is also covered.
Principles & Practices is a valuable course whether you are looking to start a career in real estate or just wish to be more familiar with laws pertaining to real estate transactions for your personal use.
I will provide you with the information you need to pass the State exam and even try to make the learning fun!
As ABC Real Estate Academy’s Owner/Instructor, Linda Frischkorn has over 25 years of experience in the real estate business and is licensed in CT. Linda is currently employed at Cartus, a global relocation company in Danbury, as a Manager of Business Development & Insurance. At Cartus, Linda has held numerous positions including home sale consulting, property management, property evaluation and training. Her background also includes positions for CENTURY 21 Sunbelt Realty in Cape Coral, FL as a Relocation Director and CENTURY 21 Home Services Scalzo Group, Bethel, CT as their Director of Agent Development. She has been teaching the Principles & Practices of Real Estate course for over 12 years and is very passionate about teaching the class.
Linda’s promise to you is to make this class as informative and entertaining as possible so you take away the most from the class.
What are the requirements for obtaining a Connecticut real estate license?
- You must be over 18 years of age
- You must attend a 60 hour pre-licensing class called “Principles and Practices of Real Estate”; take and pass the final exam with a 70% or better
- Apply to the State of Connecticut to take the state exam, then pass that exam with a 70% or better
What do I need to do to sign up for the course?
- To sign up please fill in the registration form and either fax it or email it. You will need to make a $50 deposit to reserve your place in the class and receive your books.
When are the classes held?
- Bethel Class – Monday and Wednesday evenings from 6-10 PM for 15 sessions
What is your refund policy?
- Please see list of class policies
How much does the course cost?
- The fee for the 60 hour class in Bethel is $400 which includes the required textbooks and must be paid in full by the first class
- If payment schedule is needed there is an additional 10% administrative fee, please make arrangements in advance
What happens if I miss a class?
- You must attend 60 hours, however, there are 2 make up classes offered. These classes will follow the normally scheduled classes
Do you offer day or Saturday classes?
- Sorry, but not at this time
I took a 30 hour class but never applied to the State, do I have to take the full 60 hours now?
- Yes, Connecticut now requires (1) 60 hour class so unfortunately you will need to complete all 60 hours.
What other costs are there in obtaining my license?
- $80 to apply to the State of Connecticut to take the State exam*
- $65 to PSI to take the exam*
- $285 yearly fee to the State of Connecticut*